The Univeristy of Melbourne The Royal Melbourne Hopspital

A joint venture between The University of Melbourne and The Royal Melbourne Hospital


15 Oct 2020

Doherty Institute researchers elected Fellows of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences

Two Doherty Institute scientists have been elected as Fellows in the Australian Academic of Health and Medical Sciences (AAHMS) in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the health and medical research landscape in Australia.

Professor Tim Stinear and Professor Roy Robins-Browne are among 28 new Fellows in the 2020 induction, who have been elected at a time when health and medical science is making a crucial contribution to the nation’s future.

University of Melbourne Professor Tim Stinear, a laboratory head at the Doherty Institute, has been recognised for revolutionising our understanding of important bacterial infections by using cutting-edge genomic technologies. His research has led to new diagnostic tests, new insights on how infections spread in our hospitals and better understanding of how bacteria are evading our most powerful antibiotics. He is one of the world’s foremost authorities on the neglected tropical disease, Buruli ulcer, and is leading an intervention trial in Australia to stop its spread.

“I’m very grateful for this recognition of my efforts, but this is also of course a reflection of the talents, skills and dedication of the many scientists and clinicians with whom I have the privilege to work,” Professor Stinear said.

University of Melbourne Professor Roy Robins-Browne, a former head of the Department of Microbiology and Immunology and co-founder of the Doherty Institute, is a medical microbiologist who has made significantly improved the understanding and clinical management of diarrhoea-causing bacteria, such as E. coli and Yersinia enterocolitica, providing new insights into the mechanisms of host-pathogen interactions. In an impressive career spanning almost 40 years, his teaching has guided a generation of biomedical students.

"I am deeply honoured to be recognised by my peers in the Academy of Health and Medical Sciences. I am indebted to my family for their support, and to my mentors, colleagues and students who have made my career at the University of Melbourne and the Murdoch Children's Research Institute so interesting and rewarding," Professor Robins-Browne said.

The new Fellows will be admitted at the Academy’s sixth annual meeting on 14-16 October, which will be streamed live from Sydney.

“The diverse talents and expertise of these Fellows reflects the incredible breadth and depth of Australia’s world class health and medical research. It is this solid base of expertise that has equipped the country to address the pandemic so successfully,” Professor Ingrid Scheffer AO, AAHMS President said.

Click here for a full list of the new AAHMS Fellows.