The Univeristy of Melbourne The Royal Melbourne Hopspital

A joint venture between The University of Melbourne and The Royal Melbourne Hospital


11 Oct 2018

Professor Stephen Kent recognised for contribution to Australia’s health and medical community

The University of Melbourne’s Professor Stephen Kent, a Laboratory Head in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology at the Doherty Institute, is one of 37 new Fellows elected by the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (AAHMS) in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the health and medical community in Australia.

Professor Kent was recognised for his work in the field of immunology, specifically in HIV.

“I’m very honoured to be elected as an AAHMS Fellow and the award reflects the hard work of the team I work with,” Professor Kent said.

The Doherty Institute congratulates Professor Kent as well as Professor Shitij Kapur, Dean of the Faculty of Medicine Dentistry and Health Sciences, and Professor Anne Kelso, Chief Executive Officer of the National Health and Medical Research Council and former Director of the WHO Collaborating Centre for Reference and Research on Influenza at the Doherty Institute, along with other esteemed colleagues in the Melbourne Biomedical Precinct who were also elected Fellows

University of Melbourne Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) and member of the Doherty Institute Councillor, Professor James McCluskey, welcomed the announcement of the Fellows and emphasised the strength of Australian medical research reflected in these appointments.

“I congratulate all those individuals who are at the core of finding new and better ways of treating diseases,” Professor McCluskey said.

“The University is proud to support our key leaders and we acknowledge their tireless efforts, with all of them having excelled in their own fields in their unique ways. This is wonderful recognition of their achievements in medical research and strengthens one of our most important learned academies.” 

CLICK HERE for a full list of the new AAHMS Fellows.